Week One

It’s been a great first week here in Bergen, Norway. It took me 24 hours of travel to get here, but I can already say it’s going to be a memorable 6 months. They set me up with an apartment view that overlooks the end of the fjord in Bergen, along with the Norwegian School of Economics. It’s not hard to miss the sunrise and sunset considering there are only several hours of daylight now. In a few months it will be light throughout the night which I am very excited for. I’ve seen other students pictures of the mountain top views during the midnight sun and can’t wait to post some of those on here in a few months.

The last few days here have been jam packed with nights at countless pubs in the city, overpriced McDonalds burgers, Norwegian traditional food and did I mention drinking? They love to drink alcohol here and haven’t shied away from making it known to the exchange students at our never ending pre parties, middle parties and post parties. There is even a night club in the downstairs of the business school called Klubben, it is pretty awesome. They also really enjoy their music and I’ve already purchased tickets with friends to artists playing in Bergen, including Axwell Ingrosso and their very own Bergen born Kygo. There are over 150 exchange students from over 40 different countries. And surprisingly, I am the only American male this semester. I’ve met people from more nationalities in these first few days than I ever could have hoped to. I’m excited for what’s to come, but for now I’m going to go watch the NFL game’s. Sco Hawks!

 

Leave a comment